Roger Calixte Poupart " is a fervent artist who hears the silence of the dead and the suffering of the living, who is uplifted by joy...

        He belongs to the family of men who are steeped in gravity, tragedy and joy, to the family of stonecutters and craftsmen; he belongs to the family of Péguy : "the soul is seen on the face, the soul is seen in the work".

Robert Marteau

June 1971

French complete text : click here

        " Spiritual works, but not disembodied. On the contrary, in spite of the impressive size of the paintings (often 4 or 8 square meters), great care is taken to let colours play upon one another, lines tauten and relax, volumes weigh on one another, matter vibrate, usually sliding over the grain of the canvas with apparent ease, sometimes catching hold of a difficult passage as if preparing to spring. (…) This could all be overwhelming. Quite the contrary: it is a liberation. An act of faith, a gesture of peace, a divine word which almost at once addresses not the eye but the heart. "

Alain Bandelier

November 1973

French complete text : click here

        " His painting struck me as superb, endowed with a spiritual density equal to its plastic purity. "

Bernard Dorival

Private correspondence of November 11, 1974

        Poupart " was for me the personification of the creative spirit. He had the art of bringing the eternal world of shapes and colours back to life. "

Jean Hubert

Private correspondence of January 29, 1980

        " The fluidity of his painting, space freed from structures and limitations, colour floating in the air as in a transparent body crossed by diaphanous waves, incline Poupart toward joy. His work, so intensely interiorised, rich with fervour and love, explodes into light; the " bitter road" becomes " a road to joy " and painting blossoms into plain-chant. "

Pierre Cabanne

March 2005
French complete text : click here

Roger Calixte Poupart " est un fervent qui entend le silence des morts, la souffrance des vivants et que la joie soulève …

        Il appartient à la famille des hommes de la gravité, du tragique et de la joie ; il appartient à la famille des tailleurs de pierre, des compagnons ; … il appartient à la famille de Péguy : " l'âme est visible dans le visage, l'âme est visible dans l'ouvrage ".

Robert Marteau

Juin 1971
Pour le texte intégral, cliquer ici

        " Œuvre spirituelle, mais pas désincarnée. Au contraire, malgré les dimensions imposantes des toiles (souvent 4 ou 8 mètres carrés), un grand souci de laisser les couleurs jouer les unes sur les autres, les lignes se tendre et se détendre, les volumes peser les uns sur les autres, la matière vibrer, glisser le plus souvent sur le grain de la toile avec une facilité qui n'est qu'apparente, s'accrocher parfois à un passage difficile comme pour ramasser son élan. (…) Ce pourrait être écrasant. Au contraire, c'est une délivrance. Un acte de foi, un geste de paix, une parole divine qui s'adresse presque d'emblée au regard non des yeux mais du cœur. "

Alain Bandelier

Novembre 1973

Pour le texte intégral, cliquer ici

        " Sa peinture m'a paru admirable, d'une densité spirituelle égale à sa pureté plastique."

Bernard Dorival

Correspondance privée du 11 novembre 1974

        Poupart " personnifiait pour moi l'esprit créateur. Il savait redonner vie au monde éternel des formes et des couleurs. "

Jean Hubert

Correspondance privée du 29 janvier 1980

        " La fluidité de sa peinture, l'espace affranchi de structures et de limites, la couleur flottant dans l'air comme dans un corps transparent traversé d'ondes diaphanes, inclinent Poupart vers la joie. Cette œuvre si intensément intériorisée, riche de ferveur et d'amour, explose dans la lumière ; le " dur chemin " devient un " chemin vers la joie ", et la peinture s'épanouit dans le plain-chant. "

Pierre Cabanne

Mars 2005

Pour le texte intégral, cliquer ici